Tap to Read ➤

A Beginner's Guide to the Basic Moves in Jujitsu

Rahul Thadani Nov 20, 2018
Jujitsu is one of the most strong forms of martial arts, and it takes many years to master it. Some fundamental moves form the basis of all advanced techniques, and with proper training this ancient Japanese martial art can be perfected.
Jujitsu has long been synonymous with self defense, and knowing some moves will surely get you out of a sticky situation or two. This art was developed by the samurais in ancient Japan, and is easily one of the deadliest and most ruthless martial arts around.
It is meant to protect you from armed attacks that come your way, and if learned correctly, it can teach you to seriously injure someone with a single blow.
The most basic moves heavily involve locking your opponents, grappling with them, and throwing them to the ground. These are some of the most complete and aggressive martial arts skills that one can learn, and their effectiveness is unquestioned the world over.
In order for one to learn and master these techniques, a lot of training and hard work is required, and this can be received from any of the multitude of schools that offer courses. This art is about 800 years old, so it is not something that can be picked up easily. People spend many years mastering their moves and gaining more experience.
Jujitsu is, in fact, more than just a fighting technique; it is more a way of living and gaining control over your body and your mind so as to lead a positive and healthy life.

Jujitsu for Beginners

Learning the art takes years but the basics can be understood fairly quickly. The same principles apply for most of the moves and this makes it easier to learn. The throwing techniques are known as Nage Waza and some of the most common ones for throwing are as follows.
  • Osoto-Gari (Major outer reap)
  • O-Goshi (Major hip)
  • Ippon-Seoi-Nage (One point shoulder throw)
Throwing techniques form an integral part of jujitsu, and without mastering them, advanced moves are very hard to learn. Next you have the locking techniques, also known as Kansetsu Waza.
The most common locking techniques are Kote-Gaeshi (Wrist twist), Ude-Kujiki (Arm break) and the Ude-Garami (Arm entanglement). The locking techniques usually go hand in hand with the throwing techniques, and together they are enough to counter any potential attackers that come your way.
Lastly, you have the ground techniques to dismantle your opponents while on the ground, and like all the other techniques, these too form the basis for basic and advanced moves. The ground techniques are also known as Ne-Waza and it includes the Kesa-Gatame (Scarf hold), Juji Gatame (Cross lock) and the Yoko-Shiho-Gatame (Side four corner hold).
Basic moves simply serve as starting points for getting to know far more advanced and deadly ones. These also go a long way in teaching an individual the fundamentals of balance, leverage and momentum.
These concepts are key to picking up the art of jujitsu and there is no other way to learn this skill than by constant training and practice. The various skill levels of a person means that they are allotted a belt of a certain color, the highest being the black belt.
The order of skill belts is as follows:
  • White belt
  • Red belt
  • Yellow belt
  • Orange belt
  • Green belt
  • Blue belt
  • Purple belt
  • Brown belt
  • Black belt
The white belt level, being the most basic of all, simply deals with kicks, punches, throwing simple strikes and blocking. A few throws are also covered within this level as it builds up to learning the advanced moves that come with the succeeding levels.
To reach the level of a black belt is not simple by any means, and not everyone is capable of doing it either. More than just the knowledge, one requires sincerity, hard work and commitment to reach the next level. Enrolling in a jujitsu school is highly advisable in order to get professional training and mentoring.