Pro Bowl 2011

A short account of the Pro Bowl 2011 game, played on 30th January, is presented in this article. The roster contains the names of the players who participated in this event.
SportsAspire Staff
The 2011 AFC-NFC Pro Bowl game was played on 30th January, 2011, at 7.00 pm. The game was held at Aloha Stadium, Honolulu, Hawaii. NFC defeated AFC in a game with a score that read 55-41. Let us see more about this prestigious event in the National Football League (NFL) calendar.
Pro Bowl
Pro Bowl matches are played between top players of the National Football League (NFC) and American Football League (AFC). Since this game involves all the top players, the contest is an all-star game. It is played at the end of the NFL season. Most of the leagues organize their all-star games midway during that particular season. Pro Bowl matches are however an exception to following this kind of a trend. 15th January, 1939, was the day when the first ever Pro All-Star Game was played. Wrigley Field of Los Angeles was the venue for this and the year after that. The presence of top players in these games made them popular instantly.
Pro Bowl 2011
Pro Bowl games have been played at Honolulu, Hawaii, since the year 1980. The 2010 game was however held at Miami, which was kind of an experiment. It returned to Hawaii immediately after that, i.e., in 2011. The decision to organize the event of 2010 in Miami received widespread criticism. The fact that this year's game was held before the Super Bowl, meant that few of the top players couldn't participate in the event. However, it was still a quality game, with NFC playing better than AFC. NFC dominated this Pro Bowl game right from the first half. It reflected on the scoreboard, which read 42-7 at halftime. DeAngelo Hall of the Washington Redskins, with his impressive performance, won the MVP award. NFC's outstanding defense too played an important role in its team's victory.
The list of players selected for this all-star game is presented below. The names include Pro Bowl roster 2011 alternates, reserves and starters.
NFC Team Participants
Position Participants
Quarterback Michael Vick, Drew Brees and Matt Ryan
Center Andre Gurode, Ryan Kalil
Offensive guard Carl Nicks, Chris Snee, Jahri Evans
Offensive tackle Donald Penn, Tyson Clabo, Jordan Gross
Tight end Tony Gonzalez, Jason Witten
Wide receiver Miles Austin, Larry Fitzgerald, Calvin Johnson, Roddy White
Fullback Ovie Mughelli
Running back Steven Jackson, Adrian Peterson, Michael Turner
Strong safety Adrian Wilson
Free safety Roman Harper, Antrel Rolle
Cornerback Brent Grimes, Antoine Winfield, DeAngelo Hall
Inside linebacker London Fletcher, Jonathan Vilma
Outside linebacker Jon Beason, Brian Orakpo, DeMarcus Ware
Defensive tackle Darnell Dockett, Justin Smith, Jay Ratliff
Defensive end Justin Tuck, John Abraham, Julius Peppers
AFC Team Participants
Position Participants
Quarterback Matt Cassel, Peyton Manning, Philip Rivers
Center Alex Mack, Jeff Saturday
Offensive guard Brian Waters, Logan Mankins, Kris Dielman
Offensive tackle Matt Light, D'Brickashaw Ferguson, Joe Thomas
Tight end Zach Miller, Marcedes Lewis
Wide receiver Wes Welker, Brandon Lloyd, Dwayne Bowe, Reggie Wayne
Fullback Vonta Leach
Running back Chris Johnson, Jamaal Charles, Arian Foster
Strong safety Eric Berry, Michael Griffin
Free safety Brandon Meriweather
Cornerback Champ Bailey, Devin McCourty, Darrelle Revis
Inside linebacker Jerod Mayo, Ray Lewis
Outside linebacker Shaun Phillips, Terrell Suggs, Cameron Wake
Defensive tackle Kyle Williams, Haloti Ngata, Vince Wilfork
Defensive end Randy Starks, Jason Babin, Jason Babin

Pro Bowl games are considered amongst the greatest attractions for football enthusiasts. One can watch quality football in such games. and 2011 was no exception to this fact.